Armchair Mogul
The (backseat) driving force behind Hollywood. Way behind.

Voodrew Gives Thanks…


Today, we are called to give thanks…and I gotta give it up for Rod Serling.

It is impossible to ignore the impact that Rod Serling had on television.
In a time of countless variety shows and soap operas, Rod had the balls and foresight to challenge what was being shown, and challenge how we, as a species, were smarter than network television made us out to be. Rod was a progressive thinker of the day, hating the injustice of how African Americans and women were treated in society. He originally thought of the idea, to make a show in which he wouldn’t be censored by the networks, if he could thinly veil “hot topic” social issues into Sci-Fi stories.

Pioneering the famous TWILIGHT ZONE, Rod showed us a “new” way of watching television. A show that wasn’t opposed to COMPLETELY jumping genres each week, sometimes mid-episode!

Twilight Zone paved the way for some of TV’s greatest shows; Lost, X-Files, The Outer Limits, Flash Forward, Amazing Stories, Alfred Hitchcock Presents, Fantasy Island, Quantum Leap, Tales from the Crypt, …even including the original Star Trek pilot “The Cage,” which is loosely based on the episode “People Are the Same Everywhere”

It inspired some of the greatest writers and directors of our time; Stephen Spielberg, Joss Whedon, J.J. Abrams, Damon Lindelof, M. Night Shyamalan (Well, maybe not greatest, but well known.)

It inspired some of the most well known movies since it’s inception; Poltergeist, Final Destination, Child’s Play, The Box, Christine, The Truman Show, The Sixth Sense, not to mention having an impact on novels, comic books, and even video games.

If you have a few minutes, I would like to offer up an interview with one of the most badass dudes of our time. If you are interested in television history, GET IT ON!

Part One:

Part Two:

Lord, we thank you for Rod Serling.

– Voodrew

 

In response to Davenpoe’s request for Biopic casting.  There is only one logical choice in my opinion… I hope I didn’t blow my wad on Khan, it has to be…. Nestor Carbonell.

7 Responses to “Voodrew Gives Thanks…”

  1. My God. That was the most fascinating thing I’ve heard in forever. What an intriguing guy…I’m genuinely moved by his character and devotion to his art.

    It just really makes me realize how far we’ve come, how far we’ve fallen and how much hasn’t changed at all.

    I think the world would really benefit from more of this long form interviewing style. I know we have “Inside the Actor’s Studio”, but somehow, I’m not as interested in those that execute ideas as those who generate them. Plus, when you’ve got guests like Dave Chappelle and Mark Wahlberg being held up as paragons of the art form, I can’t help but feel like the concept has somehow become dilluted.

    We’ve got a world obsessed with the spotlight, and unfortunately, writers, with very few exceotions, are persona non grata. I weep for a world without Rod Serling and celebrate the influence he’s had.

    Okay, so…biopic time!! Who plays Rod Serling in the movie of his life?? And while you’re thinking about that, imagine Charlie Kaufman writing it…!

  2. …and thanks, Voodrew!

  3. Thanks for watching the videos buddy, I’m glad someone got as much out of it as I did. I felt inspired just watching it. BTW, check out my biopic choice….

  4. Not bad, not bad. But I’ll see your Nestor Carbonell and raise you one Mr. Billy Crudup – http://www.richardphibbs.com/portfolio/portraits/images/newimages0309/BillyCrudup_BL_Varvatos_0206b,v2.jpg

  5. Damn you, Davenpoe! That might be perfect. I’m torn, Crudup looks the part but is midwestern home grown, Nestor acts the part, like he could leave the room and devise very clever ways of killing you in his next story. Hmmmm.

  6. You know what’s nuts? I just watched a couple of episodes of “Shatner’s Raw Nerve” on Bio, it’s this interview format, and its actually REALLY GREAT.

  7. I agree Nestor Carbonell would be perfect. Not only does he look like Serling, but he has the intelligence and mystery to be convincing.


Leave a comment