Armchair Mogul
The (backseat) driving force behind Hollywood. Way behind.

You know what, Star Wars? Bye. Get out!


You all know me; you know how I took the “Star Wars fan” thing a little further than most. I have a Star Wars collection that was actually featured on Joblo.com. http://www.joblo.com/dvdclinic/index.php?id=4508 

I know, I know, I took it overboard, but I had my entire life of collecting in that room.

*sigh*

I’m going to make this as quick and painless as possible.

Star Wars, get out of my house, you aren’t welcome anymore.

I put up with the prequels in the past. I even argued that they were ‘good’ with some people. Even though there were some “cool” moments, I will finally admit this 11 years later, sitting down to watch Episode I is an exercise in futility. It’s unwatchable.

If you take the fact that you are just excited to see the mythos again, the movie is COMPLETELY unwatchable. How is it possible that you have a movie where some of the greatest talent of our time, Liam Neeson, Natalie Portman, and Ewan McGregor and they come of looking like they just started acting?

Anyways…again, let’s make this as fast as possible.

After Episode 3, we had the candy colored Clone Wars movie, with Jabba’s baby “Stinky the Hutt,” a Lucasfilm approved Yoda shirt that says “Pull My Finger”…

Today …was the nail in the coffin…

Star Wars Sitcom in the Works:

“Lucasfilm is prepping an animated sitcom that would take place in the STAR WARS universe. “The Star Wars universe is so dense and rich; it’s crazy to think that there aren’t normal, mundane everyday problems in a world so well-defined. And it’s even crazier to think of what those problems might be, since it’s all set in a galaxy far, far away.”

You know what?…Bye.

GTFO.

If you don’t care about your movies, why should I?

I know exactly what you are saying, “Why now? Most of us gave up a long time ago.” Well, I think it was how much I had invested. It’s like growing up to find out that your best friend as a kid ended up is serial killer. You don’t really want to believe it.
I’d like to think that I tried, but Lucas…you’re out. You suck.

We’ll always have the childhood nostalgia, and some great moments from the original trilogy…but you have officially outweighed bad things with good.

If a student got a 46% on their test, they would fail.

George Lucas. Fail.

-Voodrew

No Responses to “You know what, Star Wars? Bye. Get out!”

Leave a Reply

