Armchair Mogul
The (backseat) driving force behind Hollywood. Way behind.

New Moon…same boring town…


Watch this: Same character from Juno, complete with hoodie and Chuck Taylor’s…MINUS the whit and charm that made her appealing…without rational cause (or character development) attracts all manner of other worldly creatures…leaving her depressed and writhing with tummy pain on the damp forest ground, due to all the commiseration that’s wrought from loving…well, a creature.

Twilight I or II?

SEE…you don’t know. You know why? Because friends…it’s the same f***ing movie!!!

I liked Dawson’s Creek…and I liked Underworld. So, why does Twilight leave me feeling so angry and unsatisfied. It may be that I’m anticipating action at some point…from my vampire/werewolf film. No…not maybe…that’s definitely it.

3 Responses to “New Moon…same boring town…”

  1. Wow. So brilliant! This post made me laugh so hard. The only thing I might disagree with is that Dreamworks can’t or won’t make flicks that stand the test of time (although it maybe hasn’t been enough time to even say so)…or that all Pixar films will.

    Kung Fu Panda, Chicken Little and Madagascar (1 & 2) are some of mine and my kids’ favorites. I of course agree that Pixar is brilliant, but movies like Up, Wall-E and Ratatouille (however you spell that) all pretty much bored my kids to tears, even though I, as an adult saw the beauty in some of their character development, storytelling and sentimentality.

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that although I want to pull out Finding Nemo and the Incredibles over and over again–b/c they are some of the few kids’ movies that I as an adult can tollerate watching over and over again–it’s the farting noises and goofy faces and people falling down that make my kids laugh, not the witty one-liners. And when it’s their turn to choose a movie, they’ll often go with Madagascar or G-Force or Robots or Kung-Fu Panda, b/c those movies deliver plenty of that. There has to be a mix of both for it to appeal to adults and kids, I think.

    That’s why Kung Fu Panda was so amazing. It was one of the first non-Pixar cartoons I’d ever seen that was just as developed, just as character and plot-rich. AND it still kept the slap-stick and the goofiness the kids want to see. It’s a CHILDREN’S story, even though told in a sophisticated-enough way to entertain adults. I think Ratatouille and Wall-E missed the mark on that, but that’s just my opinion. I also think movies like Monsters v Aliens did the same thing…the story of a girl’s journey to realize her boyfriend is an insecure loser that she needs to dump?? (Okay, maybe that wasn’t the entire plot, but it was definitely NOT something kids could relate to, imo). Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs may have been sorta wacky and not nearly as developed as a Pixar flick (it wasn’t Dreamworks OR Pixar), but it had jokes gallore, and my kids have been retelling them and cracking themselves up since they watched it…and I really enjoyed it too. I just think there are a few Pixar movies, that, although well-made, won’t stand the test of time either. And even though the Shrek movies were never my favorite, I think they are classics for a lot of people.

    Maybe I’ll just say Dreamworks has made a few good ones, albeit amidst plenty of duds, while Pixar has made a couple forgettables amidst its myriad of gems.

    …Then again, I’m pretty sure everyone but me thought Wall-E WASN’T the most boring movie on the planet, so maybe I have no clue what I’m talking about.

    πŸ™‚

  2. (Oh, and I didn’t mean to insinuate that Mon v Aliens was a Pixar flick…just clarifying.) πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, and what about how I commented this under the wrong post??? ROTFL!!!! That’s only slightly embarrassing. Why can I not find where to delete!!?? These were OBVIOUSLY supposed to be under the Standing the Test of Time Post. Yikes…sorry!! :/


Leave a Reply

